boat-ed.com
BoaterEd Store      - Help Support This Forum - Join Today!      Hunting/Fishing Stuff
BoaterEd
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register

Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Avatar Legend | Statistics
[ Active Members: 23 | Guests: 181 ]  [ Total: 204 ]  [ Newest Member: mark h bischoff ]
 All Forums
 Clubs - Organized Clubs, Cruises and Activities
 SF Bay and California Delta Boaters
 Rough water boat handling tips???
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: Times are changing Topic Next Topic: maybe Im crazy???  

Waynepj4

RO# 30904

Posted - Jan 26 2009 :  12:24:15  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Ive become an expert at docking. I can dock with no problem. So far, I havent encountered rough conditions and as a result I have no experience handling a boat in rough water.

Can anyone offer advice on handling a boat in rough water? (planning a trip in Feb that will require me to cross San Pablo bay).

I own a 2001 Bayliner 2855 with 300hp Merc, Bravo 3 leg

Homeport: Martinez, CA

Waynepj4

RO# 30904

Posted - Jan 26 2009 :  13:45:49  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
ok. Perhaps it was a bad question. nevermind

Homeport: Martinez, CA Go to Top of Page

Old_Salt

RO# 20541

Posted - Jan 26 2009 :  14:12:25  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Waynepj4:

I have never boated in San Francisco Bay, so you may wish to discount the following in itís entirety. I have been in the area several times, and have observed that when the wind is blowing through the Bay, it automatically fills up with sailboats. I donít recall seeing more than 3-4 foot waves (my estimation) with some pretty impressive whitecaps, inside the GG bridge.