boat-ed.com
BoaterEd Store      - Help Support This Forum - Join Today!      Hunting/Fishing Stuff
BoaterEd
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register

Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Avatar Legend | Statistics
[ Active Members: 15 | Guests: 124 ]  [ Total: 139 ]  [ Newest Member: Lancer ]
 All Forums
 Forums
 Ask the Captain
 Cetol refinshing/recoating
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: 2005 Boston Whaler 110 Sport Topic Next Topic: Raymarine RC530 Plus  

Ductboy

RO# 12348

Posted - Mar 28 2009 :  21:04:06  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I have never used cetol before, but my new (to me) boat has some teak that is finshed in orginal Cetol (not the clear version)

Anyway, I have both fore and aft flag staffs here at my home and wanted to re-coat them today. I hit them with 220 grit sandpaper and it ate right through the finish, which was not all that bad to begin with. It had a little depth.

Once I was through the finish in areas, I knew I had to keep going, so I stripped them both to bare teak. I will probably just varnish them as i dont have any Cetol on hand and they are just flag staffs.

My question is this, I have teak covering boards that have been Cetoled. Would it be more correct for me to just re-coat without sanding? Are you not supposed to at least scuff the surface when re-coating. I am concerned that i will wear through on those and I really dont want to have to strip them as they look pretty good as they are.

Dan
Be careful of the toes you step on today, they may be connected to the ass you have to kiss tomorrow...Buddy Cianci

Homeport: Westerly, RI

chiropaul23

RO# 20411

Posted - Mar 28 2009 :  21:24:03  Show Profile  Reply with Quote