boat-ed.com
BoaterEd Store      - Help Support This Forum - Join Today!      Hunting/Fishing Stuff
BoaterEd
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register

Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Avatar Legend | Statistics
[ Active Members: 13 | Guests: 201 ]  [ Total: 214 ]  [ Newest Member: MikDee ]
 All Forums
 Forums
 Engines, Electric, Plumbing, etc.
 How much should it cost to replace bellows?
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: Bayliner full of water Topic Next Topic: Change Oil Pump?  

Waynepj4

RO# 30904

Posted - Jul 16 2009 :  18:18:28  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello there,

I have water in the aft bilge. I'm guessing that the u-joints or bellows are leaking and letting water in. My question is how much should it cost for the following:
-haul out
-drive service and replace bellows
-thorough wash, buff and wax of boat.

Im relatively new to boating and dont have a frame of reference when it comes to maintenance costs so I have no way of knowing if Im getting ripped off or not.

Homeport: Martinez, CA

pickconst

RO# 31354

Posted - Jul 16 2009 :  20:04:24  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
service/ replace bellows about 1000 parts and labor if done at marina or by mechanic i did my own for 125 in parts its a pain but doable

Homeport: ct Go to Top of Page

Tanqueray

RO# 17091

Posted - Jul 17 2009 :  00:06:01  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
If you seriously think the bellows is causing your water in the bilge problemmm.....you'd better pull the boat right away regardless of how much it costs. A leaking bellows is a sinking in the waiting.

KALENA II

Homeport: New York Go to Top of Page

TheoMD

RO# 15854

Posted - Jul 17 2009 :  10:15:44  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
....to say nothing of the corrosion potential to your gimbal bearing/ U-joints

Homeport: Cotuit, MA Go to Top of Page

Type-A

RO# 24241

Posted - Jul 17 2009 :  10:28:45  Show Profile  Reply with Quote