BoaterEd Store      - Help Support This Forum - Join Today!      Hunting/Fishing Stuff
BoaterEd
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register

Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Avatar Legend | Statistics
[ Active Members: 5 | Guests: 116 ]  [ Total: 121 ]  [ Newest Member: 56Fifth ]
 All Forums
 Clubs - Organized Clubs, Cruises and Activities
 Cruisers Yachts Owners
 New to Cruisers Yachts (3580)
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: Leakie Porthole Topic Next Topic: Removing Shaft coupling  

jcs707

RO# 17629

Posted - Feb 16 2010 :  21:11:12  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Am currently looking at a 98 3580 - always fresh water, always covered. Boat is on Lake Lanier (land locked) - Atlanta. Boat has extensive service and repair documentation and appears to have been very well maintained by a owner with deep pockets. Current owner is two boat owner - he just upgraded to a 55ft Navigator.

Since I'm new to Cruisers - my biggest concern is the hull. Is it solid or cored? Saw another post on the forum that seemed to suggest that it's cored.

/Clint

Homeport: Lake Lanier, GA

jcs707

RO# 17629

Posted - Feb 16 2010 :  21:23:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Just saw the posting: http://www.boatered.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=111471

I'm assuming nothing changed for the 98 product line or that they did anything different on the 3580. That's very disappointing - really like the boat.

/Clint

Homeport: Lake Lanier, GA Go to Top of Page

king5899

RO# 19628

Posted - Feb 16 2010 :  23:57:49  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Yes it is cored. In fact a 2009 is still cored because they do it right. You shouldn't rule it out without an education, you may be missing a nice boat. A good surveyor can determine the state of the coring and from that point on it's how you take care of the boat determines the lifspan. If it is well taken care of there's a good chance it's fine, but get it checked out.

MJK