BoaterEd Store      - Help Support This Forum - Join Today!      Hunting/Fishing Stuff
BoaterEd
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register

Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Avatar Legend | Statistics
[ Active Members: 6 | Guests: 107 ]  [ Total: 113 ]  [ Newest Member: Robert Lamkin ]
 All Forums
 Forums
 Diving Discussions
 SSI vs PADI vs Naui
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: boat maintenance Topic Next Topic: So much for needing a bunch of fancy gear.  

Chevy427z

RO# 11911

Posted - Dec 07 2010 :  07:29:57  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Howdy fellow divers :-)

Been a while since I've posted in here. Hope everyone is well and enjoying the holiday season.

I've been diving for 35 years, got certified by PADI in 1975.

I've recently volunteered with a local rescue squad as a diver and have been taking some new certifications through SSI (Scuba Schools International) I am going through them simply because that's what the local dive shop offers. Side note: they want me to become an instructor at some point.

So anyhow, as I have been "out of the loop" for a while regarding training, does anyone have an opinion on the differences in training between the "big 3"? PADI, NAUI, and SSI?

We dove a wreck off of Wrightsville Beach NC two weekends ago. I love living down here LOL Left NY 12 years ago and never looked back. Diving again this weekend on a training mission.

Hope everyone is keeping warm!

Mark
1989 23' Arrowglass Merc 350/260 Alpha 1 I/O "Valkyrie"
"Don't try to outweird me, three eyes. I get stranger things than you in my breakfast cereal."

Homeport: Oak Island, NC

rnbenton

RO# 31163

Posted - Dec 07 2010 :  07:46:45  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I got my original dive certification in 1965 with NAUI and 1966 got my Advanced rating with PADI. But my Rescue Diver and Dive-Con (combination dive master and asst. instructor) are with SSI, 1971 and 1972.