BoaterEd Store      - Help Support This Forum - Join Today!      Hunting/Fishing Stuff
BoaterEd
Username:
Password:
Save Password

Register

Active Topics | Active Polls | Resources | Members | Online Users | Avatar Legend | Statistics
[ Active Members: 6 | Guests: 111 ]  [ Total: 117 ]  [ Newest Member: wlsomaha ]
 All Forums
 Misc. Meanderings
 Help Wanted and Position Wanted
 second try
 New Topic |   New Poll New Poll |   Reply to Topic | 
Author Previous Topic: Job site for vets Topic Next Topic: Construction Project Managers Wanted  

defboat

RO# 9541

Posted - May 22 2011 :  10:39:06  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Anyone have any suggestions on what to put on a job application when you have absolutely no experience?

After almost a year trying to find a full time admin / data entry / secretarial position in my area, I'm having no luck. I've decided to change directions and apply for any food / cafeteria type job in my area. I'm a great cook and love the atmosphere of a kitchen / cafeteria. Also, this would keep my weekends hopefully, clear for boating.

I need any advice or suggestions anyone can offer because most of the jobs require experience and I have nothing but 'life' experience in a kitchen.

Thank you!

Homeport: boats in New Castle, NH

Flutterby

RO# 14378

Posted - May 22 2011 :  21:03:03  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You have plenty of experience at a multitude of "jobs", you just haven't been paid for any of them!!!!

Besides cooking, I bet you have managed a budget; made purchasing decisions for [kitchen/household/???]. You may have managed the care and maintenance of appliances, vehicles, etc.

Have you taught anyone how to use a computer? How to use xyz software? By now you may be getting the idea.....