Advice for replacing Volvo DPS u-joints

Chriznat20

RO Number
I have a 99 Four Winns Vista with a 5.7L Volvo Duo-Prop outdrive. I have all of the manuals (Volvo Penta and Semloc) and pulling the drive off appears to be pretty straightforward, you take off the shift linkage and the 6 nuts holding the outdrive on and with 2 people pull it off, right? Any tips appreciated!

Im going to replace the u-joints. Any tips here? Ive ordered the Volvo Penta replacements and have the u-joint clip removal pliers (used them several times over on car/truck u-joints- thank god I invested in them).

Just looking for tips/stories/advice. Its my first time pulling off a DP-S outdrive.

Yup, loosen up the shift cable "bracket", starboard side of drive. Then when you remove the cover you'll remove the cotter pin and nut so cable can slide out. You'll also need to remove the end caps, e-clips and washers, to slide out the pivot arm(?) I also removed the props last fall before removing drive. Made the drive much lighter, I was able to lift myself without props on.

Cool.. thanks for the reply. Do I have to mark the shift linkage somehow so when I put it back together it wont be out of adjustment?

not really up on the newer Volvo's.. but older ones allowed access to the ujoints by removing the upper gear housing... if replacing ujoints is your only goal. That's on my 290DP.. same for a DPS?.. dunno.

quote:

Originally posted by Chriznat20

Cool.. thanks for the reply. Do I have to mark the shift linkage somehow so when I put it back together it wont be out of adjustment?

Be sure to count the number of turns to remove the cube nut from the shift cable so you can reassemble with the correct position.

UPDATE: I called my local Volvo Penta authorized dealer with my outdrive Model (DP-SM) and my outdrive model # (3868913) and they told me that I cant replace individual u-joints - I have to replace the whole yoke and shaft assembly to the tune of $348!